Everyone’s two cents

There are many people that I surround myself with that are very supportive of the lifestyle I lead however there are also people out there who purposely put their two cents in to see my reaction.

We can never really know whether these negative people are intentionally trying to hurt us, because I’m sure there are people who genuinely want to help us grow. In saying that, there are people who aren’t happy with where they are and continue to give their advice for all the wrong reasons.

When I was faced with this negativity, I began to doubt myself. I questioned whether my eating habits and my workout routine was the best path I could be taking.

Self-doubt is so dangerous in whatever situation you are in.

Whether that be in a relationship, at work or even with your training – your self-belief is the single most important thing to push you through tricky situations.

In this instance I really had to reflect on who I was and what I value to remind myself that what I am doing is working. Looking back at the amount of progress I have made in the last few months, it is astounding. I did that, with the help of others around me, and it is working. What works for me, doesn’t necessarily work for others and what someone else suggested wouldn’t have worked for me.

Although there is a certain point that everyone needs to take responsibility and believe in themselves, we naturally rely on others as well. It is so important to surround yourself with positive people who will be there through the ups and downs. Seeing others believe in you allows you to believe in yourself. At the end of the day, those are going to be the ones who will love you through anything and everything.

I can’t stress enough that when leading a healthy and balanced lifestyle there isn’t a set program to follow. What works for you may not work for the person next to you. The point of living this sort of lifestyle is that you find what is balanced for you.

Whether some people can eat out with friends every week or only train three times a week it doesn’t matter. If what you are doing works, go for it!

Leave a Reply

