My First Experience with Intermittent Fasting

Fasting has been a concept that I have always been aware of, whether it was for dieting or cultural and religious purposes. Personally, I had never considered partaking in the practice because I couldn’t stand the thought of missing breakfast or being restrained to a timeframe of eating each day. That was until I tried it for myself.

After months of watching influencers on social media partake in routine fasting and conducting a bit of my own research, I started to become fascinated with the concept. For those who haven’t heard of fasting or intermittent fasting before – in its simplest terms – it is to go without food (and sometimes drink) for a certain amount of time. Click here to read a bit more about it.

Personally, I am extremely food-focused and once that three-hour mark hits my brain and stomach begin to look for more food. Knowing this, I expected that if I were to fast, it would be the mental challenge of going without that I would have to overcome.

When I received my university timetable I was struggling with planning my meals in three-hour blocks as it’s not possible to eat while I’m in class. I knew that if I started eating early in the morning, it would spike my metabolism and cause me to be food-focused for the rest of the day. This is where I considered fasting would come in handy.

Now I only fasted until 11am, which won’t sound like much to some, however I have trained my body to eat at around 6 or 7am every morning. I was extremely worried about pushing myself those extra four to five hours to get to my first meal.

So here is the verdict: I absolutely loved it! Throughout the morning I had a three-hour block of classes and not once did I begin to feel hungry, nor was I food-focused at all. I was able to get my work done in each class and stay focused – it was just awesome!

It’s fascinating for me to reflect on this morning and realise that it’s not always my body that’s hungry, it’s mostly in my head. For me to push through this with relative ease was a big step to teach myself that I can go without if needed.

Whilst I’m not going to make this a daily routine, I will be partaking in intermittent fasting every now and again. I feel as though it will be a productive way to train my brain away from hunger.

Drinking plenty of water – some people even have coffee – and having a piece of gum would be a good tip for those starting out. I would encourage people to look into fasting as a means of avoiding unnecessary food intake. This would be in situations where you don’t need a lot of energy, for example if you are sitting at a desk all morning. You have to start small though and whilst I could have waited until after midday for my first meal, I didn’t want to push my body too far too soon. It is definitely a practice that I would recommend anyone who is interested to conduct their own research and maybe try it out for themselves.

Leave a Reply

